Dreamer by L.E. DeLano 5 Stars

Mark this as a definite April 2018 TBR (4/10/18)

Oh my goodness! So, anyone who follows me on my bookstagram @yetstillshereads on IG http://www.instagram.com/yetstillshereads/ & now my twitter http://www.twitter.com/yetstillsheread/ and has followed me through my immediate obsession for Traveler by L.E. DeLano, book one in the Traveler series- knows that from the second I read the ARC of Traveler last year, I was hooked. I loved Traveler so much that I created a Glitter Mousse candle from my company Nox to Lumos Candle Co. Glitter Mousse is the most delicious sounding dessert from any fantasy book I had ever read. (Imagined a whipped mousse of cream cheese, whipped cream, with a hint of citrus… tart & sweet but that isn’t even the most incredible part of the mousse. Its full of glitter and when you eat it, your mouth GLOWS NEON! Come on, that sounds brilliantly delicious. Anyways, so in Traveler, we left off at one of the biggest cliffhangers Ive ever experienced. Just to recap, this is the synopsis of Traveler:

Dreams and the real world collide in this twisting, time-bending fantasy about family, friendship, and how love can span every reality.
Jessa has spent her life dreaming of other worlds and writing down stories more interesting than her own, until the day her favorite character, Finn, suddenly shows up and invites her out for coffee. After the requisite nervous breakdown, Jessa learns that she and Finn are Travelers, born with the ability to slide through reflections and dreams into alternate realities. But it’s not all cupcakes, pirates, and fantasy lifestyles – Jessa is dying over and over again in every reality, and Finn is determined that this time, he’s going to stop it… This Jessa is going to live.

That sounds pretty amazing, right?! So… at the end… something happened that I would have never anticipated. Finn, who did everything in his power to keep Jessa alive. Rudy, Finn’s dreamer, set him up in Jessa’s reality because he didn’t have a counterpart there. was actually the one killed (instead of the anticipated Jessa!) by Jessa’s creative writing teacher Eversor, who was the traveler that was trying to kill all the Jessa’s in all of the other realities working alongside the rogue dreamer, Rudy (Yup! Finn’s dreamer. That Rudy.) trying to get the convergence to take place. Everything finally made sense because it felt like in all the realities where the Jessa’s were dying, someone was one step ahead of them. Anticipating their moves. Finn. Dead.  (*Biggest. Cliffhanger. Ever.*)

*Fun Fact: I finished the ARC and contacted L.E. DeLano on her Instagram page @le_delano , I told her how much I loved her book and that I needed to create a candle inspired by her book. Yes. I loved the story that much. My candle company Nox To Lumos Candle Co. noxtolumoscandleco.etsy.com was brand new back then. Glitter Mousse was actually the second chunk candle I ever created. Chunk candles became my SIGNATURE style and I was the first to bring them into the bookish community. Since then, Traveler and L.E. Delano have both become near and dear to my heart. Immediately after seeing that there were Dreamer ARCS, I knew I needed one right away!

Now on to the sequel: Dreamer.

Description:

This thrilling sequel to Traveler doles out adventure and heartbreak in equal measure as it takes readers through a kaleidoscope of intricately crafted worlds of wonder, discovery, and danger.
You’re still you no matter where you go.
Jessa has learned the hard way that traveling to alternate dimensions isn’t all delicious, glittering desserts and fancy parties: it also means accidentally running into people she thought she’d never see again. Still mourning a devastating loss, Jessa isn’t really prepared for the arrival of a reckless version of someone she once loved who is now bent on revenge. Add an increasingly complicated relationship with her best friend Ben, the reappearance of an old enemy, and the threat of the multiverse collapsing, and Jessa’s got a lot on her plate. She may be destined to help save an infinite multitude of worlds… but in the end, all Jessa really wants to do is save her friends.
In Dreamer, the young adult fantasy follow up to Traveler, author L. E. DeLano delivers a gripping, emotional story that will leave readers on the edge of their seat.

Ahhhh! Dreamer stole and broke my heart. It was thrilling, adventurous. Heartbreaking. L.E. Delano’s writing is so fluid. It feels effortless to read. Her writing is riveting and there is a complexity to her characters that you wouldn’t expect but is so emotionally gut-wrenching. Jessa’s brother Danny is Autistic. I am not going to lie and I am, sincerely, honest to admit my ignorance about autism but Traveler, and more so Dreamer, have really opened my eyes to a perspective that I am sure very few who aren’t directly affected with a loved one diagnosed with autism sees. Dreamer made me cry when there were scenes with Danny, but it also made me smile. There is a part in Dreamer where they go inside Danny’s dreamscape and his mind is beautiful. Creative. So perceptive. Jessa will fight with everything in her to keep her reality and her loved ones alive. Even after jumping into different Jessa’s, Danny always knows when she isn’t herself and another Jessa is with him. She loves her Danny best and I love that fierce loyalty about her. (I don’t mean to be all over the place, I just feel like Danny’s role in this book is so important. Vital. He stole my heart and in the real world, outside of reading a book, I feel like I was enlightened and I both honored to have had a glimpse into such a personal reality and embarrassed that it took me to read a book to even try to put myself in those shoes. Thank you for sharing Danny with us- with me.

So, The swashbuckling & sexy Pirate Finn comes in like a bat out of hell bent on revenge. His Jessa- who the Jessa in the real reality met twice- was one of the casualties of Eversor and Rudy’s insane plan to start the convergence so they could start anew. Since the core of who Jessa and Finn are is always the same in every reality, the situations are just different causing their lives to be different. In those two meetings with Jessa’s counterpart who was madly in love with the Pirate Finn, Jessa always felt a tug- a bond. Once her Finn died and Pirate Finn’s Jessa was killed… Jessa did everything she could to not jump into any realities that would have her run into one of Finn’s other counterparts. It was bound to happen, just not yet. The loss of him was too soon. After long enough, Mario, Jessa’s Dreamer brought the other Finn into Jessa’s world to help her fight against the end of the world as they knew it. Jessa’s broken heart leaves her afraid to open herself up to Pirate Finn because it feels like its a replacement Finn… but is it? Arent they all the same Finn at the core?

I give Dreamer 5 Stars. I Loved it so much. This series is one of the only series that I try to convince anyone and everyone to read. I love time travel but this brings time travel to whole different level. The unique spin on traveling is a breath of fresh air. I promise that you will fall in love with these characters and this writing just as much as me.

ISBN-13:
9781250100429
Publisher:
Feiwel & Friends
Publication date:
04/10/2018
Series:
Traveler Series
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
1,034,900
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.25(h) x (d)
Age Range:
13 – 17 Years

Leave a comment